The meaning behind the name…

                                                                                   Kelebek Ali

My reason behind my name is more about expressing myself. Kelebek means “Butterfly” in Turkish and “Ali” means “Wings” in Italian.

In the past couple of years, butterflies have been showing up in my life:

  • my cousin put a butterfly sticker on my phone

  • I got a butterfly necklace as a gift.

  • Both are the images I used to teach my niece the word “butterfly” (the first word I taught her)

  • my sister gave all her bridesmaids a butterfly necklace earlier this year;

  • I had to hunt for a white shirt for a family photo shoot and it ended up having a butterfly on it.

I’ll be honest; I’ve never really noticed butterflies that much before, but at this point in my life, they seem to be a good representation of what I am currently going through.

At the moment, I am at that stage which Britney Spears described perfectly – “I’m not a girl, not yet a woman.” I am finding my own way which may be difficult at times but I’ll get there. I am hoping to Au Pair in the coming year which for me will be a big step as I have never left my country but it is something I really want to do in my life. This next year is where I change a lot and grow as a person – in other words – I’m growing my wings and learning to fly.

The choice in the languages were completely different, Kelebek I first heard on the x factor season 5, it was the chosen name of one of my favorite performers, and like she did, I loved the sound of it. The decision to use “Ali” is because I love Italy, therefore I added a bit more of me into the name.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Interesting choice of blog name and the meaning behind it. Like you, I see a particular thing all the time that holds significant value to me but unlike you, mine was feathers. White feathers to be exact. It all started when my grandpa died. I first found a white feather on my bed, which is very weird because I don’t have feathered pillows and my windows are all shut. I know it sounds crazy, but I always think it was from an Angel’s wings whenever I found one. Now, whenever I see one (which is always either on my bed, on the floor inside my room, or just outside my door), something significant always happen. They’re not always good news, but they’re pretty significant. And like you, I know it’s something I should never ignore. Goodluck on your journey to au pair in the coming year!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Beth Johnson

     /  September 25, 2014

    Plenty of good logic here! Keep flying little butterfly.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. I love butterfly 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. I was actually curious about the name. Now I know 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  1. Hey, Neighbor! Let’s Talk. | When My Brain Farts

Leave a comment